您使用的浏览器不受支持。
本网站的某些功能可能无法正常运行。为获得最佳的用户体验,请使用Chrome、Firefox、Safari或Edge浏览本网站。

灌流细胞培养

灌流,或上游连续生物工艺,自1980年代以来一直被行业所采用,以最大限度地提高设施利用率,增强工艺灵活性并降低成本。创新的技术、精密的控制逻辑系统、细胞培养添加物和一次性使用装置的开发极大地简化了灌流方案的实施,使其成为工艺强化和连续工艺的“基石”。

查看更多信息

长期灌流

灌流细胞培养利用细胞截留装置和连续的培养基置换,在较长的时间(通常是几周)内实现并维持更高的细胞密度和活性。细胞截留装置将细胞截留在生物反应器内,同时加入新鲜的培养基,并不断地去除目的产物、废物和营养耗竭的培养基。新鲜培养基补加的速率与从生物反应器中去除产物和耗竭培养基的速率相同。中空纤维膜过滤器是最可靠、也是最常用的膜类型。长时间灌流只是灌流的一种应用,与更短时间的灌流应用(如HPH)形式相比,后者专注于在几天内实现补料分批工艺的强化。此外,灌流也可用于强化种子扩增过程,以减少步骤数,实现更快的整体生产时间。 

开发于1980年代的早期灌流技术,经常会负面地影响细胞健康,且规模放大过程相当复杂,所以尽管其有很大的优势,但并未被行业普遍采用,加上细胞系工程、培养基组成和生物反应器设计的发展使批次和补料分批细胞培养的产物滴度成倍增加,在一段时间内减少了对灌流细胞培养方法的需求。 

而近年来,为降低成本和操作规模,以提高设备产能、吞吐量和产率,人们开始寻求替代性生产策略,这使行业对灌流技术及其优势重新产生了兴趣。而技术创新,如使用新型交替式切向流过滤技术的XCell ATF®,有助于解决历史挑战,并将生产模式转向灌流,已成为现代化上游工艺的关键平台。 

相比补料分批,灌流可使VCD和产量均提高10倍

灌流可在补料分批13 x 106 cells/mL VCD的基础上达到 100-130  x 106 cells/mL VCD。在17天的运行中,灌流培养的细胞活性维持在90%以上,而在补料分批中,活性从第9 天开始下降,至第14-15天时约为70%。灌流培养获得的更高的VCD和活性可转化为更高的总产物产量。灌流工艺可获得约 30-35 g的产量,而补料分批工艺在约15天内达到3g。 

更高的细胞密度,更高的活性 

  • 相比已优化的补料分批工艺,未优化的灌流工艺已可使VCD提高10倍  
  • 灌流可获得更快的细胞生长速率以及更健康的培养 

更高的产量 

  • 相比补料分批,灌流培养中更高的细胞密度和活性可使产量增加10倍  

用于长时间灌流的技术

交替式切向流(ATF)过滤

ATF是一种屡获殊荣的技术,它可以将细胞截留在培养体系内,而同时去除耗竭的培养基。应用时,将 XCell ATF® 设备连接到生物反应器,ATF可最大限度地降低细胞剪切,并保持细胞与生物反应器内容物的恒定平衡,从而获得更快的细胞生长,达到更高的密度和产量。目前,XCell ATF® 设备已经成为单抗和重组蛋白生产的领先灌流设备。

资源

全部展开

连续生物工艺:行业最佳实践 第2册 

连续生物工艺:行业最佳实践 第1册 

Special Report on Continuous Bioprocessing: Upstream, Downstream, Ready for Prime Time?
Angelo DePalma
BioProcess International, 2016年5月

Continuous Manufacturing: A Changing Processing Paradigm
Randi Hernandez
BioPharm International,2015年4月01日

A Novel Seed-Train Process: Using High-Density Cell Banking, a Disposable Bioreactor, and Perfusion Technologies
Benjamin Wright, Mike Bruninghaus, Mike Vrabel, Jason Walther, Neha Shah, Seul-A Bae, Timothy Johnson, Jin Yin, Weichang Zhou & Konstantin Konstantinov
BioProcess International,2015年3月

Developing an Integrated Continuous Bioprocessing Platform: Interview with Konstantin Konstantinov 
Maribel Rios
BioProcess International,2012年12月

A Brief History of Perfusion Biomanufacturing: How High-Concentration Cultures Will Characterize the Factory of the Future
John Bonham-Carter & Jerry Shevitz
BioProcess International,2011年10月

You are using an unsupported browser.
Some features of this site may not function properly. For optimal user experience, please view this site in Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Perfusion Cell Culture

Perfusion, or upstream continuous bioprocessing, has been practiced since the 1980s towards maximizing facility utilization, expanding process flexibility and minimizing costs.  Innovative technologies, sophisticated control logic systems, cell culture supplements and single-use assemblies have tremendously simplified implementation, establishing perfusion as the cornerstone of intensification and continuous processing.

Request more information

long-term perfusion

Perfusion cell culture utilizes a cell retention device and continuous media exchange to achieve and maintain high cell densities and viabilities over extended periods of time, typically weeks. The cell retention device retains cells inside the bioreactor, while fresh media is added, and product of interest, waste products and spent (or depleted) media are continuously removed. Fresh media is provided at the same rate that product and spent media are removed from the bioreactor. Hollow fiber-based membrane filters acts as the most reliable and commonly used membrane type.  Long term perfusion is just one application of perfusion and contrasts with shorter time based perfusion applications, such as High Productivity Harvest (HPH) that focus on intensifying fed patch processes over the course of days. Perfusion may also be used to intensify the seed train with reduced steps and faster overall time to production. 

Early perfusion technologies, developed during the 1980s, frequently negatively impacted cell health and entailed complicated engineering scale-up. Despite promising advantages, adoption was not widespread.  In addition, advances in cell line engineering, media composition, and bioreactor design generated multiple-fold increases in product titer from batch and fed-batch cell cultures, temporarily reducing the need for, and the impact of, perfusion cell culture approaches. 

The recent pursuit of alternative manufacturing strategies that can boost facility capacity, throughput, and productivity with reduced costs and scale of operation has led to a renewed interest in perfusion technology and its benefits. Technology innovations, such as XCell ATF®, using novel alternating tangential flow filtration, have been instrumental in solving historical challenges and in shifting the paradigm towards perfusion as a key platform for modern upstream processing. 

Perfusion Enables 10X VCD and 10X Product than Fed-Batch

Perfusion achieves 100-130 million VCD compared to 13 million for Fed-Batch. Perfusion culture viability is maintained above 90% over a period of 17 days. Fed-Batch viability begins to drop after day 9 to approximately 70% at days 14-15. Higher VCD and viability of perfusion cultures translates to an increase in total product yield. Perfusion process yields approximately 30-35 g. Fed-Batch process achieves 3 g in approximately 15 days. 

Higher cell density, higher viability 

  • Unoptimized perfusion process achieves up to 10X VCD over optimized Fed-Batch  
  • Perfusion enables higher cell growth rates and healthier cultures 

Higher productivity 

  • Higher cell density and viability of perfusion culture enables 10X yield increase over Fed-Batch  

Technologies for long-term perfusion

Alternating Tangential Flow (ATF) Filtration

An award-winning technology, ATF allows the removal of spent media while keeping cells in culture.  Applied using an XCell ATF® Device attached to a bioreactor, ATF minimizes cell shear and keeps cells in constant equilibrium with bioreactor contents. This results in faster cell growth at higher densities with higher productivity.  Today, the XCell ATF® Device is the leading perfusion device for mAb and rProtein production.

Resources

Expand All

Continuous Biorprocessing: Industry Best Practices volume 2 

Continuous Biorprocessing: Industry Best Practices volume 1 

Special Report on Continuous Bioprocessing: Upstream, Downstream, Ready for Prime Time?
by Angelo DePalma
BioProcess International, May 2016

Continuous Manufacturing: A Changing Processing Paradigm
By Randi Hernandez
BioPharm International, Apr 01, 2015

A Novel Seed-Train Process: Using High-Density Cell Banking, a Disposable Bioreactor, and Perfusion Technologies
by Benjamin Wright, Mike Bruninghaus, Mike Vrabel, Jason Walther, Neha Shah, Seul-A Bae, Timothy Johnson, Jin Yin, Weichang Zhou and Konstantin Konstantinov
BioProcess International, March 2015

Developing an Integrated Continuous Bioprocessing Platform: Interview with Konstantin Konstantinov 
by Maribel Rios
BioProcess International, December 2012

A Brief History of Perfusion Biomanufacturing: How High-Concentration Cultures Will Characterize the Factory of the Future
by John Bonham-Carter and Jerry Shevitz
BioProcess International, October 2011